Malagonlong Bridge | Things to do in Tayabas City-Quezon
|Open:||Everyday, open 24 hours.|
|Address:||Brgy. Mateuna, Tayabas City, Quezon|
Calle Budin is a small, specialty street lined with stalls selling sweets and homemade delicacies in Tayabas. Comprising about 20, the stalls sell items such as candies, pastillas, atsara, coco sugar, chicharon, espasol, sweet ube, yema kopek, and pili tart. The most popularly sold items on this street are Quezon's lambanog, longganisa de Lucban, and budin. Named after the iconic delicacy of Tayabas, Calle Budin sells budin in every single stall. Though each stall has a different version of this pugon-baked goody, all of them use the same ingredients and the same way of cooking. Budin is the cassava version of the kakanin or rice cake. It is made of milk, sugar, cheese, eggs, margarine, balinghoy, and of course, cassava. The ingredients are mixed or pounded together, and cooked in a pugon or coal-based oven for four hours. Budin is best eaten while it is still warm, and topped with more cheese.
Casa de Comunidad de Tayabas is an old Spanish structure that served various functions since 1776. Through the centuries, Casa de Comunidad was once as a town hall, a transient house for travelers, a house for dignitaries, a central school, and even a prison. Today, Casa de Comunidad is being renovated into a museum. You'll find a small atrium at the center of the structure, and a public library (Mon - Sat, 8am to 5pm) at the back. The library houses an intimate collection of battered paperbacks, literary novels, magazines, and hardbound references such as almanacs, encyclopedias, and law books. Its second floor, meanwhile, is being made into the Tourism Office of Tayabas. While it was first built in 1776, Casa de Comunidad wasn't made of adobe until 1831. It was burned down during the World War II, and later rebuilt by the National Historical Institute. In 1973, Casa de Comunidad was declared a National Historical Landmark by the order of the Philippine President Ferdinand Marcos.
Officially known as Minor Basilica of St. Michael the Archangel, Tayabas Church is considered one of the oldest churches in the Philippines. Ideal for dramatic weddings, the basilica is famous for its 103-meter-long aisle and its baroque-style paintings and murals. Unique to this church is the clock on its belfry tower. Tayabas Church was initially made of nipa, bamboo, and anahaw, by Franciscan Friars in 1585. It was only in 1600 that the church was built from adobe, but was destroyed by an earthquake in 1743. The church was rebuilt the year after, and then expanded in 1856. It was once again damaged during the World War II, and was reconstructed in 1966. The church was declared a minor basilica in 1988.
Where to stay
Nawawalang Paraiso Resort & Hotel first opened its door in April 1985.
Through the years, Nawawalang Paraiso Resort continues to be one of Quezon’s favorite holiday, retreat and dining venues. With its alluring, pleasant and enjoyable charisma, the resort has been attracting thousands of loyal and satisfied guests. Dubbed as “The Lost Paradise”, it is living up to its promise as the ultimate place for fun, rest, recreation and romance.
Strategically located at Gomez Extension, Barangay Ilayang Iyam, Lucena City, Quezon, this hotel is a great choice for all types of travelers seeking comfortable accommodations. It has clean interiors, quality facilities, and amenities that guarantee a memorable stay.
Queen Margarette Hotel is the largest hotel in Quezon Province in terms of accommodation, conference and events and culinary experience. It consists of three branches strategically situated in the heart of Lucena City and Mauban Quezon, all providing one remarkable experience to its guests. It features classic and modern themed rooms, hotel facilities such as swimming pool, lobby lounge,spacious conference halls, two themed restaurants and our own bar, and spa facility. We are the Pride of Quezon Province.
Getting there and around
Brgy. Mateuna, Tayabas City, QuezonGet directions