Dagatan Lake | Things to do in Tayabas City-Quezon
|Open:||Everyday, open 24 hours.|
|Address:||Brgy. Silangang Palale, Tayabas City, Quezon|
Located in between Mt. Malipunyo and Mt. Banahaw, Tikub Lake (or Ticob, Tikob, Ticub) is a low-profile volcano with a nearly circular crater lake. From the rim of this volcano, travelers would have to take a 10-minute steep descent to reach the lake. With an area of 48 hectares, the lake is home to thousands of fish such as bakuli, tilapia, dalag, and hito. Visitors are free to fish or kayak in the lake, or camp from the rim of the crater. Like San Pablo's Seven Lakes in Laguna only 15 kilometers away, Tikub Lake is part of the monogenetic volcanoes (erupts only once) in Southwestern Luzon Volcanic Field.
Quezon is the birthplace of historic, religious, and artistic figures. One of its proud offsprings is Augusto "Ugu" Bigyan, a potter who dropped his full-time job as an accountant years back, and followed his passion in the art of pottery. The Ugu Pottery house is a warm, earth-toned abode cum workshop to students wanting to learn from the master. It is known to locals as Pulang Bahay due to the warm bricks that cannot be missed from the road. Aside from pots, his works range from intricately-designed windchimes, plates, ethnic-styled jars, birds, butterflies, fish, and many more. The artist has spent more than a decade perfecting his craft, teaching pottery, and exhibits especially at the famed Ayala Museum in Makati. His style had been embraced by world-class resorts like Amanpulo, El Nido, and Quezon's very own, Villa Escudero. The garden also has a restaurant (required reservation) that serves lunch and traditional Filipino meryendas like halo-halo and freshly-brewed coffee.
The parish was established in 1776 and is administered by the Agustinian Recollect. It was made with native materials, and albeit most are reconstructed after the Phil-American War, the doors of said parish are preserved until this day. After the war, the place was deserted and was renamed Lumangbayan since the seat of the government transferred approximately 3 kilometers away from the present site of Rosario. In 1928 the Oblates of Saint Joseph administered Lumang Bayan. The church again was torched for the second time during World War II and was reconstructed by the OSJ. The name of the town was later changed to "Padre Garcia" in honor of Fr. Vicente Garcia, a native of Brgy. Maugat Padre Garcia. It was said that he came back for the Holy— and was murdered by the Japanese. His remains can be found inside the church.
Things to do nearby
- Get to know Filipino culture like never before in a tour around Villa Escudero Plantations and Resort!
- Enjoy a sumptuous Filipino buffet beside a rushing waterfall
- Wander around the huge expanse of the resort and meet various bird species along the way
- Watch the country's cultural legacies come to life during the Phliippine Experience Show
Where to stay
Experience the allure of Philippine country life at Villa Escudero Plantations and Resort.
A self-contained working coconut plantation, It was founded in the 1880s by Don Placido Escudero and his wife Dona Claudia Marasigan. Originally planted to sugarcane, the crop was converted to coconut by their son Don Arsenio Escudero in the early 1900s. A pioneering agro-industrialist, he built the country’s first working hydroelectric plant to supply his dessicated coconut factory and Villa Escudero, where he and his wife Dona Rosario Adap built in 1929.
Their children opened the estate to the public in 1981. From its humble beginnings, the resort has become a prime tourist destination for locals, overseas Filipinos and a wide array of foreign visitors to the country. It has a worldwide reputation as a showcase for the Philippines’ rich cultural heritage, offering a beguiling glimpse of its history, cuisine, dress, customs and natural beauty a mere two hours away from Manila.
The Farm’s abundance is found in the simplicity of nature, a quiet and healing place deep in a 48-hectare tropical lush jungle accessible by land 90 minutes away from Manila’s Central Business District.A place you and your loved ones will find home.Your holiday could unexpectedly be a journey of many self-discoveries from physical and mental healing with The Farm’s proven protocol, the Five Pillars – Diagnose, Cleanse, Nourish, Repair and Sustain.Our 15-year, time-tested, multi award-winning medical wellness resort will fulfil a desire of a weekend retreat to recharge with the many daily complimentary recreational and healing activities or a week or months’ stay to benefit from our integrative medical therapies and natural treatments for detox, pain control, acute or chronic diseases, weight management, trauma and depression to name some.Leave The Farm renewed with the perfect balance of science and nurture from Filipino Integrative Medical doctors across The Farm’s Five Healing Components – Holistic Integrative Medical Sanctuary, Nurturing Spa and Acqua Hydrotherapy, Plant-based Wholefoods Vegan Cuisine in Alive! Restaurant, Mindful Movement and Functional Fitness and the heart of its People and the Healing Environment.
Getting there and around
Brgy. Silangang Palale, Tayabas City, QuezonGet directions