Church Ruins | Things to do in Lucban-Quezon
|Open:||Everyday, 6am - 6pm.|
|Address:||Brgy. Ayuti, Lucban, Quezon|
Also known as San Luis Obispo de Tolosa Parish Church, Lucban Church follows the style of Baroque architecture with features of Corinthian columns and niches on its facade. Its interiors meanwhile are washed with colorful frescoes on its walls and ceiling. The church was established by Franciscan priests in 1578, and was elevated as a parish in 1595. Lucban Church weathered several wreckage from a fire, bomb, and earthquake, but was subsequently rebuilt thereafter.
Quezon's iconic pilgrimage site, Kamay ni Hesus features a towering 50-foot high statue of Jesus, on a steep hill. To reach the top, visitors would have to zigzag their way up and across the pathways that mark the stations of Christ's passion. Scaling the hill from one side takes about 320 steps. Kamay ni Hesus is situated inside a park-like complex. Another prominent feature is Noah's Ark inside the Garden of Eden. Noah's Ark is a retreat house shaped into a giant boat, offering an overnight stay at P700/head, breakfast included. Also found in the complex are several souvenir stalls, snack bars, and a church, which serves a healing mass every Wednesday at 9am. A shorter hill called Luklukan ni Maria can be found near the gate entrance. Kamay ni Hesus was founded by Father Joseph "Joey" Ayala Faller, and opened to the public in 2007.
Kweba ng Husgado (Justice Cave) is notorious for testing one's purity of spirit. Unrepentant sinners are said to have difficulty crossing the cave tunnel, regardless of their size or weight. Spelunking here takes an hour, requiring a flashlight. Visitors would have to crawl through most of the way and watch their head for limestone.
Things to do nearby
Experience shooting the rapids in Pagsanjan Falls, Laguna with your travel buddies and enjoy exciting boat rides along rapids surrounded by the lush landscape. Enjoy swimming around the waterfalls and in a hidden cave.
Where to stay
The development of Batis Aramin rooted from the childhood dream of Mr. Filomeno D. Valde. The property has been sold to the family when he was still young. It has become a favorite picnic place for his friends. It is a blessed land because old folks say that the place used to be the hiding place of the Holy Sepulcre (Mahal na Senyor) during the World War II. Fascinated by its green meadows, abundant vegetation, cool fresh air and its ever flowing crystal clear water from the spring called the ARAMIN, he decided to convert it to a resort.A pool and several cottages were built. It formally opened in the Easter of 1997. It was flocked by thousands and eager picnickers during its opening salvo since there was no resort in the vicinity. It was classified as Special Interest Resort by the Department of Tourism. Additional cottages for overnight accommodation were added in subsequent years. A 14-room hotel was built in 2005 and a multipurpose sports court was added in 2006. Air conditioned multi purp0ose halls were added. Several villas were also built in 2007.
Nawawalang Paraiso Resort & Hotel first opened its door in April 1985.
Through the years, Nawawalang Paraiso Resort continues to be one of Quezon’s favorite holiday, retreat and dining venues. With its alluring, pleasant and enjoyable charisma, the resort has been attracting thousands of loyal and satisfied guests. Dubbed as “The Lost Paradise”, it is living up to its promise as the ultimate place for fun, rest, recreation and romance.
Getting there and around
Brgy. Ayuti, Lucban, QuezonGet directions